Site Search

Scientific Organizing Committee

Scientific planning for The Asilomar International Conference on Climate Intervention Technologies is being led by Dr. Michael MacCracken. Dr. MacCracken is the Chief Scientist for Global Change Programs of the Climate Institute, Washington DC. He has had a long and distinguished research career in modeling the causes of climate change and served as division leader for atmospheric and geophysical sciences at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory from 1987-1993. While on leave from LLNL, Dr. MacCracken served as Senior Scientist and Executive Director of the US Global Change Research Program and of the first US National Assessment of Climate Change. He has extensive experience as an author and reviewer of IPCC assessments. Dr. MacCracken has served as President of the International Association of Meteorology and Atmospheric Sciences, serves on the Executive Committees of the Scientific Committee on Ocean Research and the International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics. He is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.



Chair of the Scientific Organizing Committee

Dr. Paul Berg, co-convenor of the historic Asilomar Conference on Recombinant DNA Molecules, has advised CRF and the Climate Institute on conference structure, processes for guideline development, and post-conference interactions with the science community. He is the Honorary Chair of the Asilomar International Conference on Climate Intervention Technologies. Dr. Berg is a distinguished biochemist whose work on nucleic acids won the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1980 and the US National Medal of Science in 1983. He is known world-wide for the pivotal role he played in early research on recombinant DNA and for his leadership in establishing safety guidelines for recombinant DNA research.



Advisor / Honorary Chair
Chair 1975 Asilomar Conference on Recombinant DNA Molecules
1980 Nobel Prize, Chemistry


Dr. Michael MacCracken, Chief Scientist, Climate Institute, Chair

Dr. Paul Berg, Professor Emeritus, Stanford University, Advisor and Honorary Chair

Dr. Paul Crutzen, Max Plank Institute, Germany, and Scripps Institution of Oceanography, US (corresponding member)

Dr. Scott Barrett, Lenfest Professor of Natural Resource Economics, Columbia University, US

Dr. Roger Barry, Director of the World Data Center for Glaciology and Distinguished Professor of Geography, University of Colorado, US

Dr. Steven Hamburg, Chief Scientist, Environmental Defense Fund, US

Dr. Richard Lampitt, Senior Scientist, National Oceanography Center and associated professor , University of Southampton, UK

Dr. Diana Liverman, Co-Director of the Institute for Environment and Society and Professor of Geography and Regional Development, University of Arizona, US. Professor of Environmental Science at the University of Oxford and Senior Fellow in the Environmental Change Institute, Oxford University, UK.

Dr. Thomas Lovejoy, Heinz Center Biodiversity Chair at the Heinz Center for Science and the Environment, US

Dr. Gordon McBean, Professor, Departments of Geography and Political Science and Director of Policy Studies at the Institute for Catastrophic Loss Reduction, The University of Western Ontario, London, Canada.

Dr. John Shepherd, Professorial Research Fellow in Earth System Science, School of Ocean and Earth Science, National Oceanography Centre, University of Southampton, and Deputy Director (External Science Coordination) of the Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research, UK

Mr. Stephen Siedel, Vice President for Policy Analysis and General Counsel at the Pew Center on Global Climate Change, US

Dr. Richard Somerville, Distinguished Professor Emeritus and Research Professor at Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego, US

Dr. Thomas Wigley, Professor, University of Adelaide, Australia